Florida Personal Injury Attorneys Assisting Clients with Workers’ Compensation Claims in Florida
Nobody expects to get hurt on the job in Florida. However, workplace accidents and injuries occur much more frequently than most employers or employees would like to consider. Regardless of whether the accident was preventable, sustaining a serious workplace injury can allow the victim to seek compensation by filing a workers’ compensation claim. Whether you sustained a severe traumatic injury from a fall at a construction site or a debilitating repetitive use injury from your desk job, it is important to learn more about filing a workers’ compensation claim in Florida.
Under Florida law, you can be eligible for compensation if you cannot work due to an injury. An experienced workers’ compensation lawyer can help with your claim.
Getting the Facts About Florida Workplace Injuries
What types of accidents and injuries are most common at workplaces in Florida? How often do accidents happen? The National Safety Council (NSC) cites the following facts and figures:
Every seven seconds, a workplace injury happens;
More than 4,700,000 workplace injuries occur each year, resulting in about 99,000,000 production days lost;
Sprains, strains, and tears are the most common workplace injuries each year, followed closely by repetitive motion soreness or pain, and then by cuts, lacerations, or punctures;
Around 35 percent of workplace injuries result from overexertion (associated commonly with lifting, lowering, and repetitive motions);
Approximately 25 percent of injuries on the job result from contact with objects or equipment (including being struck by or against an object, getting caught between equipment, and being caught or crushed by a collapsing structure or equipment);
About 25 percent of workplace injuries occur because of slips, trips, and falls; and
The most common industries in which workplace injuries occur are service jobs, transportation work, manufacturing and production, maintenance and installation jobs, and construction.
While certain types of workplace injuries may occur more often than others, nearly all employees can risk sustaining injuries at work and may be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits.
Get the compensation you deserve.
Filing Your Florida Workers’ Compensation Claim
How long do you have to file a Florida workers’ compensation claim? And what type of information must you provide to your employer in order to be eligible for benefits? According to the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation, the following steps are necessary for a successful workers’ compensation claim:
You should report your injury as soon as possible, but not later than 30 days after the incident, to your employer;
Your employer must report the injury as soon as possible, but not later than seven days, after learning about the incident; and
You must obtain medical treatment from the medical provider authorized by your employer or the insurance company.
A Florida workers’ compensation attorney can discuss additional required steps with you, as well as the nuances of filing a workers’ compensation claim in Florida.
Contact a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
An experienced West Palm Beach workers’ compensation lawyer can help with your claim and can assist you in the event your claim has been denied. A dedicated advocate at Lesser, Lesser, Landy & Smith, PLLC can discuss your options with you today. Contact us to learn more about the services we provide to injured workers in Florida.